Mac Wiseman’s ‘Songs That Made The Juke Box Play’




Cover for Mac Wiseman’s Songs That Made The Juke Box Play

In an effort to honor and preserve seminal classic country and bluegrass albums, CMH RECORDS (Country. Music. Heritage.) has remastered and rereleased Mac Wiseman’s Songs That Made The Juke Box Play. Now available for the first time ever on digital and streaming platforms, this expansive 22-track collection showcases the legendary “The Voice with a Heart,” supported by an expert backing band including Western swing master Johnny Gimble on the fiddle and mandolin.

Stream Mac Wiseman’s Songs That Made The Juke Box Play here.

Wiseman first recorded for CMH in 1976 and appeared on a number of original albums during his time with the label. This album, released in 1980 and never before available digitally until this brand-new remaster, is a unique gem in his work, featuring the bluegrass titan’s take on 22 classics of timeless Western swing. Wiseman’s voice glides over a remarkably laid-back rhythm section as he takes on both timeless numbers and deep cuts of the genre. Captured in the warm and clear hi-fi production of its time, Wiseman captures all the humor, wit and heart that characterizes Western swing at its best, with his one-of-a-kind delivery, on Songs that Made the Juke Box Play.

A bluegrass pioneer and a lover of country, Mac Wiseman devoted his life to music. Born in Crimora, Virginia in 1925, Wiseman first appeared on record in 1946 and didn’t stop until 2015 at the age of 90. As a singer, his voice was cherished throughout his life, but he was also accomplished on the guitar and upright bass. On top of being an artist, he was a determined facilitator of music as a festival promoter, label owner, A&R executive and co-founder of both the Country Music Association and the International Bluegrass Association. Over the course of his life, he performed regularly with bluegrass pioneers the Osborne Brothers, Bill Monroe, Lester Flatt, Earl Scruggs and Eddie Adcock as well as recorded collaborative records with country legends Merle Haggard, John Prine and Doc Watson. 

Founded in 1975 by Martin Haerle, CMH Records has released albums from artists whose monumental influence on American roots music is unparalleled. The label is responsible for essential recordings throughout the 70s and 80s by bluegrass, old time and traditional country music legends such as Merle Travis, The Osborne Brothers, Mac Wiseman, Joe Maphis, Jim & Jesse McReynolds, Grandpa Jones, Lester Flatt and Eddie Adcock.

Throughout the ‘90s and into the new millennium, CMH Records continued to cut records with artists such as Wanda Jackson (aka “The Queen of Rockabilly”), Raul Malo, Larry Cordle, Pine Mountain Railroad, Jimmy Gaudreau, and many others. Producing songs rich in American heritage by artists with their own distinct style created a strong backbone and history for the label.

The label remains a proud family business, now run by Martin’s son David. Described by the Los Angeles Times as a “stubborn, curious Silver Lake music company,” the label has been a strong proponent for honest music and has found success with its classic catalog and its ongoing “Pickin’ On” series, which features bluegrass interpretations of contemporary artists, including recent hit albums dedicated to the music of Pearl Jam, Nirvana and Modest Mouse. The Times piece added that CMH “meets unsung needs in the music industry” and cited its “creative diversification.”

Track List for Mac Wiseman’s Songs That Made The Juke Box Play:

  1. Bubbles In My Beer
  2. Slipping Around
  3. I Wish I Had Never Seen Sunshine
  4. Home In San Antone
  5. My Mary
  6. No Letter Today
  7. Yesterday’s Girl
  8. Love Letters In The Sand
  9. I Love You Because
  10. Time Changes Everything
  11. Worried Mind
  12. Drivin’ Nails In My Coffin
  13. Waltz Across Texas
  14. It Makes No Difference Now
  15. Divorce Me C.O.D.
  16. Born To Lose
  17. I Wonder How The Old Folks Are At Home
  18. The Wild Side Of Life
  19. Oklahoma Hills
  20. (Remember Me) I’m The One Who Loves You
  21. Live And Let Live
  22. One Has My Name, The Other Has My Heart


Web | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube | Spotify

Mara Alcantara
Mara Alcantara
Digital marketing and content writing associate with a knack for spotting talent. Mara has a rare combo of creativity coupled with an analytical mind. Entertainment enthusiast.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here




Gramzunkut Continues to Soar Through the Fashion Industry With Self Made Leathers

During Covid-19, Gramzunkut allowed his creative juices to flow which resulted in his first leather fashion design. Isolating from society had its advantages in...

Mexican actress Gilda Mercado presents a bilingual piece at United Solo. 

Actress and theater maker Gilda Mercado presents Ella y Yo at United Solo.  Ella y Yo is a bilingual performance that combines text, imagery, music...

Aisha Nikole Proving Women Can Do Business Too

Please introduce yourself, what you do, why you do it, and what you want people to know about you. I am a Serial Entrepreneur. I'm...

Ja’son Manwill To  Release New Rock Single  on Earth Day

Ja’son Manwill  to Release Newest  Rock Single “Despair” on  April 22, 2022 Clearwater, Florida USA —April 18, 2022—Ja’son Manwill, A World-Class Rock Recording Artiste, announced...

Artist Chester Pollard Doesn’t Let Anything Stop Him From Making His Art

Please introduce yourself, what you do, why you do it, and what you want people to know about you. I'm Chester Pollard. I'm an artist...